Loving food and living

 

 

Part of a good lifestyle change is learning how to live with everything you love but in a healthy way or in moderation.   Which sounds scarier than it really is. Dieting at home is one thing, but going out into the world is intimidating and frankly terrifying. At home you can stuff yourself full of all the baby carrots you can get your hands on.

 

The best thing you can do when you’re going out is to pre-plan and take meals and snacks. For example, when I go to the movies I’m packing my snacks. Movie theatre food is expensive in calories, and frankly I’d rather spend the calories somewhere else. So for my snacks I bring pre-popped popcorn, one of my special zero calorie drinks, and some fruit and veggies. I tend to like kettlecorn because you get both salty and sweet. My popcorn of choice is: Orville Redenbacher’s Kettle Korn Popcorn, Single Serve Bag for those precious 100 calories. My other snacks are something like strawberries, blueberries, and baby carrots because you get a lot for the calorie point.

 

Chocolate. Yeah. You heard me. Chocolate. I know all of you just stared at the word and felt your mouth salivate. Believe it or not you can eat it. Yeah, take a deep breath. Let it out. Ready for the good news and bad? The bad news is that you can’t eat your weight of it and take a full body plunge into it like Augustus in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Now, I’m partial to milk chocolate, but dark chocolate will do. Trader Joes has a Dark Chocolate in these tins usually kept in the front of the store that are divided into a wedges. You get two of them for 60 or 80 calories depending on the one you grabbed. So far my favorite is the caramel one because it tastes a little like milk chocolate.

 

But, say you have an outing and you can’t pack your lunch and you have to go on menu? Yikes! Take a breath, and let it out. Remember this a lifestyle, and you have to live in this world.  The other day my nephew had a Tae Kwando exhibition, and they had snowcones. I love snowcones, and I got one. Kona sugarfree snowcones are disgusting. It tastes like chemicals, and has almost no sweetness. I knew it wouldn’t be sweet, but I thought it would be eatable. Needless to say I ended up throwing it away after 3 bites.

 

Other than that if you have to pick on menu just try to pick things that are healthier. Don’t pick things with lots of carbs or sugars. Try to pick things that use mainly veggies and protein. Applebees has salads and soups that are really delicious and the calories don’t sucker punch you. And, don’t beat yourself up over one meal. It’s not one meal that will really mess you up – it’s what you do after.

 

Keep the faith, and go onward my Leading Ladies and Gents.

Leave a Reply

