Going out is so hard to do!

 

Our family has a tradition, where on holidays or birthdays, the person in question gets to pick where we eat. And actually food is a big tradition is our family. We eat. We like to eat. 3e9662f35c4cef5c85bcc19c2226085eMy grandmother was a chef who had her own restaurant, and ran it successfully with her daughter. The cookbook is still sought after and coveted by locals. Between my Mom and Grandmother they taught me everything I know about cooking and food. Unfortunately the lessons weren’t about healthy living or eating healthy.

 

 

e4fe1f855e1acaec9bd4b987e2a5a659

Our food is somewhere between Paula Dean and Julia Childs.  It tastes so good, but it is so bad for you.

 

This Mother’s Day my mom picked one of my favorite restaurants where the specialty is fried catfish. Fortunately the healthiest food there was steamed catfish, and even eating healthy the meal was at least 600 calories. e2dcc11fc5f0163c35fc41146adc60b9But, I went prepared. Marvelously I didn’t blow my diet. How you ask? I’m going to pretend that you did. The answer is simple, I prepared.

 

I know I’ve brought this up before, but eating in public is stressful. At least for me, and I consider anytime I don’t totally blow my diet out of the water a success. And, by totally I mean like sinking the titanic.

 

So what do I mean by prepared? Well, first I looked up the menu online, and looked through it for the healthiest options. I called to find out if the catfish was fried in a vat or dry fried, because the difference is high in calories. And, that morning I only had a protein shake so I was low on calories, and after lunch at dinner I only had another shake. Needless to go me!b65d461de11bb0b2c184efe8670110a8

 

Keep the faith, and go onward my Leading Ladies and Gents.

Leave a Reply

