Let’s play catch-up

 

 

 

I’ve had the surgery. I’m in week two of recovery, going toward my 3rd week.  I’m sorry that I’ve been absent but I haven’t felt up to posting anything or really the energy to pull words out of my head onto the page.

 

My surgery went well. It was pretty textbook, and my doctor was really awesome by providing drugs for my severe white coat syndrome. The anesthesiologist was less awesome. He wanted to talk smack to me about having to answer all his questions before he gave me something, and then wouldn’t stop repeating it instead of getting on with the show. I’m holding my freak out together dude, not deaf or dumb. I can hear you say something. I don’t need you to repeat it 4 times. Thankfully I’d healed enough for them to find an iv site after all the blood/needle botching that happened the Friday before. My savior nurse couldn’t be there but she made sure there was someone there who was good, and she got it with one go.

 

The day after they wanted me to get up and walk. But, I’m sensitive to drugs and pain. It didn’t go the way they wanted, and instead slept all day. So on day two I got the upper gi which everything was normal. And, that started my walking and water diet. Lol. To be honest it wasn’t until this last weekend that I got any appetite at all. I’ve just been drinking because I’m supposed to. When I say drinking I mean sipping. I graduated to protein shakes and clear liquid right after that. I am currently on that diet, and on the 25 I finally get to move to soft food.

 

So for the last 2, closing on 3 weeks I’ve been drinking nothing but clear liquids and protein shakes. And, I am tired of sweet. It’s not that I don’t like sweet. It’s just a lot of sweet. Everything is sweet. My other issue is gas. Everyone just says to walk, and maybe it helps but the pain is pretty intense. And, it’s after a single sip. So it’s not that I’m too full or that I’m sipping too much liquid. I take Gas X and maybe it helps a little but not much. However good news is that during the 3rd-4th week is when that should get better.

 

I’m so ready to eat something. So ready.

 

 

Keep the faith, and go onward my Leading Ladies and Gents.

Leave a Reply

